Are McDonald’s French Fries Gluten-Free?

Are McDonalds French Fries Gluten-Free

Are McDonalds French Fries Gluten-Free? Is it true that McDonald’s French fries are gluten-free? McDonald’s claims that its french fries are gluten-free on its website. Due to cross-contamination, this may not be the case at your local store. McDonald’s french fries are created by frying potatoes in non-hydrogenated vegetable oil, just like any other restaurant. There is no gluten in any of the ingredients used in the preparation.

Thank you for reading this post, don't forget to subscribe!

Are McDonalds French Fries Gluten-Free
Are McDonalds French Fries Gluten-Free

Gluten-sensitive people, on the other hand, are well aware of the dangers of cross-contamination. McDonald’s cannot guarantee that its french fries (or any of its products) will be gluten-free due to the company’s kitchen setup. While personnel make pains not to fry the same food in the same oil, the same precautions may not be taken during storage and in other areas of the kitchen.

Cross-contamination is significant since the only way to know for sure if it has occurred is if you develop an allergic reaction to the meal.

You’re better off avoiding Macdonald’s fries if you’re looking for gluten-free french fries. It’s possible that your local establishment is gluten-free, but the cost of finding out is usually not worth it.

What gluten-free options are available on the McDonald’s menu?

McDonald’s, the world’s largest fast-food company with over 39,000 locations, may be your closest food option at times. Can you order anything from McDonald’s if you’re gluten-free?

Despite the concerns of cross-contamination, gluten-sensitive people can safely consume various Macdonald’s products.

Also Read :- McDonalds Basket of Fries. Do you eat McDonald’s French fries?

Here’s a list of gluten-free McDonald’s menu items:

  • a cheeseburger covered in lettuce
  • Salads include a premium Bacon Ranch Salad, a Caesar Salad without Chicken, a premium Southwest Salad, and a side salad.
  • Creamy Caesar Dressing, Cobb Dressing, Low Fat Balsamic Vinaigrette, Ranch Dressing are some of the salad dressings available from Newman’s Own.
  • McCafé Coffee, Frappe Mocha, Frappé Caramel, and Frappe Chocolate Chip
  • Blueberry Pomegranate Smoothie, Strawberry Banana Smoothie, and Mango Pineapple Smoothie are some of the smoothies available.
  • Tea with a sweet taste
  • Hot Fudge Sundae, Caramel Sundae, and Vanilla McCafe Shake are some of the ice cream flavours available.
  • Parfait with Fruit and Yogurt (without granola)

Is there a gluten-free menu at McDonald’s?

The lack of a gluten-free menu is one of McDonald’s numerous flaws as a fast food franchise. Due to the lack of a menu, gluten-sensitive persons are frequently unaware of whether or not the food they are purchasing is safe for them.

Are McDonalds French Fries Gluten-Free

Aside from the usual menu, McDonald’s does not offer gluten-sensitive customers with any information they need to make informed decisions. This is odd, given that about 20 million Americans are suspected of having gluten sensitivity.

It also doesn’t help that McDonald’s employees are frequently clueless of the condition of their food, particularly when it comes to gluten. In answer to concerns about their gluten-free menu, many customers have reported being told to “go online and look.”

McDonalds should undoubtedly concentrate on improving its gluten-free product in order to make life easier for a big portion of its customers.

What gluten-free options are available in fast food and fast casual restaurants?

Despite numerous campaigns against fast food as an unhealthy option, it is extremely tough to overcome. This is due to the fact that fast food is inexpensive, convenient, and tasty. As a gluten-free individual, your options with fast food chains are limited, but there is usually something available.

Most fast food restaurants provide gluten-free options. Chick-fil-A, Arby’s, Chipotle, and Burger King are just a few of the restaurants that are starting to offer gluten-free options to their customers. However, you may need to know the particular gluten-free food, which can be challenging for first-time customers.

Chick-fil-A is one of the greatest places to eat for folks who are gluten intolerant. The fast-food business has a thorough gluten-free menu that can help you make informed food purchases. Gluten-free chicken nuggets and dipping sauces are available. Without the bun, Chick-fil-A sandwiches are also gluten-free. Some establishments also sell gluten-free millet, quinoa, and amaranth buns.

Customers who are gluten-free can choose from a diverse menu at Arby’s. The majority of the menu items are gluten-free as long as you avoid the bread. When purchasing fries, you should likewise use extreme caution. The oil used poses a modest risk of cross-contamination.

Except for the sour flour tortilla, Chipotle claims that all of its items are gluten-free. Customers can also purchase allergen-free items from the company.

In-N-Out Burger offers a protein-style burger that is suitable for gluten-free individuals. Customers can activate an allergy button when placing an order, as the business places a focus on allergen sensitivity.

Burger King has a large gluten-free menu, although it is organised by ingredients rather than menu items. This means that gluten-sensitive customers should know whether products are actually gluten-free.

McDonald’s, as previously stated, does not have a gluten-free menu, however it does have a few gluten-free options.

What Fast Food Items Are Gluten-Free?

When it comes to gluten sensitivity, information is power. Knowing what foods you can eat and which ones are off limits can mean the difference between a pleasant afternoon with friends and a terrible allergy attack.

While the list of gluten-containing foods is endless, some are especially popular in fast-food circles.

Gluten-intolerant people should avoid the following foods at fast food restaurants: wheat, barley, rye, malt, triticale, wheat starch, and brewer’s yeast. Foods that need frying should also be avoided.

Fried items at fast food restaurants may be gluten-free, but they are at risk of cross-contamination because both gluten-free and gluten-containing products are fried in the same oil.


Managing gluten intolerance might be difficult because you are unable to make the same choices as others. Here are a few final thoughts for you to consider:

  • According to McDonald’s website, their fries are gluten-free, however there is a high danger of cross-contamination. Avoid them if you’re sensitive to gluten.
  • Smoothies, coffees, salads, and other gluten-free options are available at McDonald’s.
  • A gluten-free menu is not available at McDonald’s. You must be aware of the gluten-free foods available.
  • Gluten-free food is available at most fast food restaurants, however the priority given to it varies.
  • Barley, wheat, rye, malt, beaver’s yeast, and triticale are the most prevalent gluten-containing foods at fast food restaurants.

Spread the love

About Cuisine Cravings Team

Hello there! Cuisine Cravings Team is a group of people who are passionate about Kitchen Ideas that developed this website to educate people on the finest kitchen techniques. We publish articles that focus on basic and fundamental cooking ideas for all levels of chefs, from beginners to specialists! Our objective is to remove the guesswork out of meal preparation so you may worry less and enjoy more! Food is an important aspect of our life, and we are excited to share our knowledge with you!

View all posts by Cuisine Cravings Team →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *