How is Soy Sauce. Is Soy Sauce halal? Soy sauce is now used as a dip in practically every home. It provides a lot of flavor to stir-fry and Chinese dishes. However, the issue of whether soy sauce is halal or haram arises in our minds.
If you enjoy soy sauce but are unsure if it is halal or haram, this article can help. Then we’ve got you covered! This article will provide an answer to your query. So, without further ado, let’s get into the specifics.
Also Read :- Is Soy Sauce Bad for Acid Reflux?
Is soy sauce kosher?
The simple answer is that while certain types contain 2-3% alcohol after being brewed and fermented, it is not enough to intoxicate you, making soy sauce Halal. Some Muslims say that Soy Sauce is Haram if the alcohol used to produce it is sourced from grapes, dates, or raisins.
Naturally brewed soy sauce is manufactured by fermenting soybeans and wheat, therefore it includes 2-3 percent alcohol, making it haram soy sauce.
All-purpose soy sauce is halal since it is produced without fermentation from water, salt, hydrolyzed soy protein, sodium benzoate, and corn syrup.
Fatwa Concerning Soy Sauce
In his fatwa, Mustafa Umar expresses his thoughts on the subject:
The fermenting process does not render a product impermissible [haram] to ingest. The issue is whether the product ferments or intoxicates like wine.
“When wine becomes vinegar, it is lawful…it is not forbidden to transform wine into vinegar,” explains Imam Quduri.
[Mukhtasar al-Quduri, Ta-Ha Publishers, 2010, p. 564] Through fermentation, wine transforms into vinegar, but its intoxicating essence is lost.
As a result, even though soy sauce is made through fermentation, it is safe to drink since it does not intoxicate and has no resemblance to wine in any meaningful sense (source).
Is Soy Sauce Halal or not?
“If the alcohol utilized in the preparation of soy sauce is produced from sources other than grapes, dates, and raisins and is not intoxicating, such soy sauce may be used.”
Soy Sauce with Alcohol
Some Muslims severely prohibit the consumption of meals containing any amount of alcohol.
If you’re in that camp, you should avoid the Kikkoman Soy Sauce brand if you live in the United States or Canada. Kikkoman soy sauce is naturally brewed and includes 1.7 percent or more alcohol. It is manufactured by fermenting soybeans and wheat.
Some Muslims consider this soy sauce haram due to the inclusion of around 2% alcohol.
Kirkkoman’s All Purpose Soy Sauce, on the other hand, would be declared haram since it is produced with water and hydrolyzed soybeans (source).
According to some Muslims, if you can drink a lot of alcohol and get intoxicated, then even little amounts of it are haram. In the case of soy sauce, however, drinking a lot of it makes you more likely to die than get intoxicated.
A adolescent was dared to swallow a bottle of soy sauce in 2013, and ended up in the ICU with convulsions, frothing at the mouth, and slipping into a coma (source). Instead of getting intoxicated with soy sauce, he nearly died.
According to that argument, some Muslims do not consider Soy Sauce to be haram, regardless of the brand or proportion of alcohol used to ferment and prepare the dish.
Alternatives to Halal Soy Sauce
Sushi or Chinese meals without soy sauce is a huge letdown. No, don’t you think? You don’t have to give up soy sauce entirely; simply switch to halal soy sauce.
Some of the halal and permitted alternatives are listed below:
- Kikkoman All-Purpose Soy Sauce
- Bragg Liquid Aminos All Purpose Seasoning Soy Sauce (Bragg Liquid Aminos All Purpose Seasoning Soy Sauce)