Is White Wine Vinegar Halal Or Not? Interesting Facts

Is White Wine Vinegar Halal Or Not? Interesting Facts

Is White Wine Vinegar Halal? In general, Muslim scholars believe that when wine develops into vinegar on its own (without the intervention of people), it is halal. Others, however, feel that wine vinegar is halal when it is produced spontaneously or through a purposeful procedure.

Wine vinegar is a common form of vinegar prepared from either red or white wine.

Muslims may be unsure if this condiment is halal or haram to ingest based on its name and components. To answer this commonly asked issue, we gathered and summarized accessible materials on wine vinegar decisions.

Is White Wine Vinegar Halal Or Not? Interesting Facts
Is White Wine Vinegar Halal Or Not? Easy Facts

Also Read :- Easy Tips on How to Clean a Humidifier With Vinegar?

How Is Wine Vinegar Made? Is White Wine Vinegar Halal

Before we go any further, let’s take a quick look at how wine vinegar is made, as this is an important factor to consider in future judgements.

A bottle of wine can naturally degrade into vinegar. Spontaneous fermentation happens when it is left open for a specific length of time. During fermentation, the alcohol content is converted into acetic acid, which is the major component of vinegar.

Furthermore, wine may be handled and processed to produce high-quality vinegar, as commercial producers do. For example, by including starting cultures, catalysts, and so on.

Wine Vinegar Decisions from Various Schools of Thought

There are several points of view on whether or not we may use wine vinegar in our cuisine. It is forbidden to turn wine into vinegar, according to the Shafi’is, Hanbalis, and some Malikis jurists. (source)

Furthermore, the Shafi’i school of thought holds that wine vinegar is halal and permitted as long as the wine converts to vinegar naturally — without human involvement. It is not halal if there is a purposeful, planned procedure. (source). However, according to this ruling, commercial wine vinegar products are not halal.

Here is the hadith that backs up the above assertions.

“The Prophet of Allah (peace and blessings be upon him) was questioned if wine could be altered to be used as vinegar,” according to Anas bin Malik. ‘No,’ he answered. (Sahih Muslim, p.163 v.2, and Sunan Abu Dawud, p.161 v.2).

However, the hadith above, according to Hanafi scholars, is so harsh on alcohol prohibition that even manufacturing drinks from vessels that used to hold alcohol is banned. Later, the Prophet of Allah (peace and blessings be upon him) permitted such practice as well as the production of vinegar from wine.

According to Darul Ifta Birmingham, Saaidah Aaisha was once questioned if wine could be converted to vinegar. “There is nothing wrong with that because it is food (Idaam),” she said. (Musanaf Ibn Abi Shaibah, Musanaf Ibn Abi Shaibah, Musanaf Ibn Abi Shaibah, Musanaf Ibn Abi Sha

As a result of this evidence, the Hanafi school of thought holds that wine vinegar is clean and permissible to ingest, whether the wine changes to vinegar naturally or by human intervention.

Conclusion

According to the Shafi’i school of thought, wine vinegar is only halal when the wine naturally changes into vinegar without the assistance of humans. Meanwhile, the Hanafi school of thought holds that wine vinegar is halal in any case.

We only include reputable and reliable sources on Halal Guidance to assist you make an educated decision, and the ultimate decision is entirely yours.

Spread the love

About Cuisine Cravings Team

Hello there! Cuisine Cravings Team is a group of people who are passionate about Kitchen Ideas that developed this website to educate people on the finest kitchen techniques. We publish articles that focus on basic and fundamental cooking ideas for all levels of chefs, from beginners to specialists! Our objective is to remove the guesswork out of meal preparation so you may worry less and enjoy more! Food is an important aspect of our life, and we are excited to share our knowledge with you!

View all posts by Cuisine Cravings Team →

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.